Call for ICPSR Miller and Flanigan Awards Nominations

Dear Colleagues,

As part of its mission to support the social sciences, ICPSR presents biennial awards to individuals who have distinguished themselves in their service to the social science community. We are seeking your nominations for these two awards.

The Warren E. Miller Award for Meritorious Service to the Social Sciences was initiated in 1993 to recognize individuals who have had a profound impact on social science research and infrastructure. Warren E. Miller, a founder of ICPSR and its first Executive Director, demonstrated throughout his career exemplary service to the social science community and a talent for building institutions that have survived beyond his direct involvement and continue to prosper.

The William H. Flanigan Award for Distinguished Service as an ICPSR Representative was established in 1995 and acknowledges significant contributions of individuals representing ICPSR member institutions. The award is named after William H. Flanigan, who served as ICPSR Official Representative from the University of Minnesota for 37 years, from ICPSR's inception in 1963 until 2000. He also served as Chair of the ICPSR Council from 1991 to 1993.

Visit our website for more information on previous award recipients.

The ICPSR Prizes Committee, charged with selecting candidates for these awards, is newly constituted in odd numbered years and includes the following members for 2011: Mr. Jeff Moon and Professor Rogelio Saenz, ICPSR Council representatives; Professor Steven Ruggles and Ms. Diane Geraci (Chair), previous Miller Award Recipient and Flanigan Award Recipient respectively; and Mary Morris, ICPSR staff representative.

Please send your nominations to this special email address: mf-awards@icpsr.umich.edu and include a brief summary of the individual's qualifications and explanation of why the nominee is a worthy recipient. The Prizes committee will consider the nominations, make a final determination of the award winners, and inform ICPSR Council of their decision. The awards will be given during the ICPSR Biennial Meeting of Official Representatives held October 5-7, 2011 in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Nominations are due no later than March 25.

We welcome your recommendations of outstanding individuals for these two awards.


Diane Geraci
Mary Morris
Jeff Moon
Steve Ruggles
Rogelio Saenz